Who cares about numbers?

My good friend Brent Catlett, @catlett1 on Twitter, reminded me of this post tonight.
http://brentcatlett.blogspot.com/2013/02/its-not-about-numbers.html
We had talked about this post during a few road trips prior to him posting it. As I said in his Google+ comments, the number of Twitter followers I have is irrelevant to me. So is the number of people I follow. If you interact with me or if you are a Nebraska educator, I'm probably going to follow you. If you don't follow through on your end by not providing me with content to make me a better educator, I'll probably unfollow you. But it will never be about getting to a number. The recognition and lists I've been mentioned on is humbling and flattering, but it's not why I'm on Twitter. It's for the teachers in my district. The kids in my district.