It's not about me

Recently I've been talking with teachers more about coding, robotics, and our Breakout EDU boxes. I've been very clear when asked - I don't really enjoy any of that stuff. Coding and robotics frustrate me. I don't enjoy playing games like Breakout EDU. Ain't got time for that. But it's not about me. Too often decisions we make in schools miss out on one important voice - the kids. I strongly dislike 11 inch Chromebooks. But that's what we purchase for our students because they do like them. I'll stick with my 13 inch screen. Neither of us is wrong. Even though I don't like the things mentioned earlier, I completely understand their importance and know that we NEED to at least expose our kids to those ideas and that way of thinking. Education is about doing what's best for kids, not the adults.