Unnecessary Responsibility

On may way to work today there was a segment on the radio station I was listening to about what you would want that doesn't cost money. One of the hosts talked about how they just wanted peace. They had had a stressful year and they just wanted to move on from it. Another one mentioned they had gone through something similar a few years ago. They realized they were being pulled in a lot of different directions, so they got rid of some "unnecessary responsibility." I really like that term. It's much bigger than the time wasting that I discussed a few days ago. The host talked about how they sold property that they had been hanging on to that they came to the realization they weren't going to do anything with. I think about the professional organizations I've been involved with over the past 8 years, both NETA and being a co-founder of EdCamp Omaha. 2017 will be my first EdCamp Omaha that I am attending but not organizing and my last NETA on the Board of Directors. Both activities were extremely beneficial for me professionally, but I'm at the point that I'm ready to let someone else lead. I'd rather spend more time with my family for a while. There always seemed to be another meeting or email or contact that needed to be made or was hanging over my head. Don't get me wrong - I wanted to do both and loved doing both. But I'm ready to be less busy with non-family responsibilities. Some people wear busy-ness like a badge (<-- fantastic video). I'm over that. From time to time, we need to take a step back and re-evaluate what responsibilities are important right now. From time to time, we all will need to shed some of our unnecessary responsibilities.